Administration and configuration

How to manage multiple active databases.

1. Administrative commands

Administrative commands should not be used during a rolling upgrade. For more information, see Upgrade and Migration Guide → Upgrade a Causal Cluster.

For detailed information on Cypher administrative commands, see <<cypher-manual#administration-databases, Cypher Manual → Database management>.

Before using administrative commands, it is important to understand the difference between stopped databases, and dropped databases:

  • Databases that are stopped with the STOP command are completely shutdown, and may be started again through the START command. In a Causal Cluster, as long as a database is in a shutdown state, it can not be considered available to other members of the cluster. It is not possible to do online backups against shutdown databases and they need to be taken into special consideration during disaster recovery, as they do not have a running Raft machine while shutdown.

  • Dropped databases are completely removed and are not intended to be used again at all.

The following Cypher commands are used on the system database to manage multiple databases:

Command Description


Create and start a new database. Enterprise Edition


Drop (remove) an existing database. Enterprise Edition


Start a database that has been stopped.


Shut down a database.


Show the status of a specific database.


Show the name and status of all the databases.


Show the name and status of the default database.


Show the name and status of the home database for the current user.

Naming rules for databases are as follows:

  • Length must be between 3 and 63 characters.

  • The first character of a name must be an ASCII alphabetic character.

  • Subsequent characters must be ASCII alphabetic or numeric characters, dots or dashes; [a..z][0..9].-

  • Names are case-insensitive and normalized to lowercase.

  • Names that begin with an underscore and with the prefix system are reserved for internal use.

All of the above commands are executed as Cypher commands, and the database name is subject to the standard Cypher restrictions on valid identifiers. In particular, the - (dash) and . (dot) characters are not legal in Cypher variables, and therefore names with dashes must be enclosed within back-ticks. For example, CREATE DATABASE `main-db`. Database names are the only identifier for which dots don’t need to be escaped. For example, main.db is a valid database name.

For detailed information on Cypher administrative commands, see <<cypher-manual#administration-databases, Cypher Manual → Database management>.

For examples of using the Cypher administrative commands to manage multiple active databases, see Queries.

2. Configuration parameters

Configuration parameters are defined in the neo4j.conf file.

The following configuration parameters are applicable for managing databases:

Parameter name Description


Name of the default database for the Neo4j instance. The database is created if it does not exist when the instance starts.

Default value: neo4j

In a clustered setup, the value of dbms.default_database is only used to set the initial default database. To change the default database at a later point, see Change the default database.


Maximum number of databases that can be used in a Neo4j single instance or Causal Cluster. The number includes all the online and offline databases. The value is an integer with a minimum value of 2. Enterprise Edition

Default value: 100

Once the limit has been reached, it is not possible to create any additional databases. Similarly, if the limit is changed to a number lower than the total number of existing databases, no additional databases can be created.


Default mode of all databases. If this setting is set to true all existing and new databases will be in read only mode, and so will prevent write queries.

Default value: false


List of database names for which to prevent write queries. This set can contain also not yet existing databases, but not the system database.

Regardless of settings of dbms.databases.default_to_read_only, dbms.databases.read_only and dbms.databases.writable the system database will never will be read-only and will always accept write queries.

Example configuration:

dbms.databases.read_only=["foo", "bar"]


List of database names for which to accept write queries. This set can contain also not yet existing databases.
The value of this setting is ignored if dbms.databases.default_to_read_only is set to false.
If a database name is present in both sets, the database will be read-only and prevent write queries.

If most of your databases would read-only with a few exceptions, it can be easier to set config_dbms.databases.default_to_read_only to true, and then put the names of the non read-only databases into dbms.databases.writeable.

Example configuration:

dbms.databases.read_only=["foo", "bar"]