Scenes and sharing data

When you are working with a dataset, sometimes you may need more than one Scene to achieve your objective. By using the Scene button, you can expand the Scene panel from which you can add a new Scene, or rename, duplicate, or delete your existing Scene(s). The Scene panel is also where you switch between your Scenes, including any Scenes shared with you.

scene panel

Whenever you make any changes to a Scene, i.e. any changes to filters, the graph, the visualization, or the style, the Scene is automatically saved. If you switch Scene, the Scene you left will be the same when you return to it.

Style settings for a Scene is determined by the Perspective by default. If the style settings in your Scene deviate from this default, you can toggle between the Perspective style and the Scene style.

style toggle

Scenes rely on node and relationship IDs in Neo4j. Changes to this underlying data can cause data in saved Scenes to appear incorrectly if IDs are reused by the database.

Bloom allows you to share your insights. When you find an interesting Scene, you have different options to share it, depending on who you want to share it with. The options are accessed with the Export button in the top right corner of your Scene.

share options

If you want to share your Scene with someone without access to the database, you can take a screenshot to export. This lets you to share your insights without allowing outside interaction with the elements in your Scene. The other option is to extract your results as two CSV files, one representing the nodes and the other the relationships present in the current Scene. This way, you may also use your results in applications other than Bloom.

The third option is to share your Scene with other users of the same database. When you create a Scene, you are its owner and only the owner of a Scene can make any changes to it. If a Scene has been shared with you, you can make a copy of it and save your own changes. Note that you need to have write access to the database to be able to make any changes at all.

When sharing a Scene, you have to select which roles you would like to share it with. The roles available depends on which roles are available for sharing the current Perspective and can be managed in the Perspective drawer. See Storage and sharing in the Perspectives-chapter for more information on roles and sharing. For more information on roles and their access, see Operations Manual → Authentication and authorization.

scene sharing

The use of multiple Scenes and Scene sharing is only available when using the Bloom plugin. Other deployments allow only one Scene, but you can still export both screenshots of your Scene and as CSV files.